What’s Your Husband Do For Living ?

Errrr, this kind of question is quiet challenging for me to answer. I dont know the best way to explain my husband do for living. Mmmmm, i mean his job. Because most all of our relatives didn’t understand. Include our parents, hiks.

These days, so many job that never exist or even unusual in our parents era. It’s very normal for them to not knowing about it.

But, after read much stories from cool blogger out there about their extraordinary job. I feel like i’m not the only one who feel complicated about it. My husband do programming for living. I know there so much programmer that feel the same experience like my husband. And i feel glad too if you all that read this, know about programming.

At first he work it as freelance. And now he work as programmer in one of IT company. Alhamdulillah this is our rizki and we accept it with fully hearts and grateful.

9_computer-programmer

Source : imasters.expert

The problem is people in our circle didn’t know about programming. Work as programmer isn’t well known. So they always look at me with the bizzare face, “what kind of work was that ?!”. In the end, to make it simple i always said my husband work with computer or IT staff. And their response are…

“Oh… so your husband can repair the out of order computer ?”

“Oh… Could your husband help me to reinstall my laptop ?”

“Oh… that’s mean you can ask your husband to download some movies ?”

“Oh… Could your husband get rid of viruses from my laptop ?”

“Oh… your husband must be very good at typing !”

Spechless. Because i know my husband job isn’t easy peasy as lemon squeeze !. He did complicated things. And i feel proud with it. Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh.

When my husband do programming as freelance, he always spend his time to work in our bedroom (because we don’t have special room for working). He only go outside to masjid for pray-to attend pengajian-to attend wedding invitation-to accompany me shopping-to meet the client for settle things-to playing futsal with his friends or-to pick me up from work.

Since we still live together with my parents in law. They know his daily routine and it make them feel worried. They wonder why their son didn’t have proper job like everyone. In their mindset, work is out from home at 7 a.m and go home at 5 p.m. So, a man who work at home defitinely not PROPER JOB !. Though my husband can support our household also his parents, give me allowance, even saving. My parents in law still worried, they afraid my husband get money from illegal or inappropriate way. They always ask what my husband did full day at home. Isn’t he feel bored ?.

Me and husband have tried to explain to them that his work have flexible time. And he doesn’t need to go anywhere since he can do it at home. And our money comes from good effort that mean it’s HALAL, InsyaAllah. But still they don’t understand. Hiks.

My parents didn’t have many question about his job. They also don’t understand about it. But my parents believe my husband is educated and good person. So, they all support all the things he choose. My parents don’t mind if my husband would work in the company, being a government employee, or run own business. As long it’s good and halal, why not ?. They only wants me to support my husband in good and bad times, never let my husband to choose something under pressure.

So, to make everyone happy my husband quit his work as freelancer. Luckily my husband had found the perfect company for him. And his passion for programming will always life. It won’t die. I’ve never seen my husband did his work seriously in high spirit like NOW. Seems he and that company destined to meet and did much things together. I feel grateful and relieved…

Now, if someone ask me about my husband job. I tell it in the simple way. My husband is programmer. Please don’t ask me to explain this🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “What’s Your Husband Do For Living ?

  1. Susie Ncuss March 31, 2016 at 4:30 pm Reply

    hmmm…
    my husband is also a programmer, but now he focuses his carrier on photography.
    wedding photographer, to be exact.😀
    and guess what, the only one who worries about his job is his parents.
    LOL.

    • Eka Novita March 31, 2016 at 4:52 pm Reply

      Omg, what a coincedence ! We have same experience. Our parents in law maybe feel afraid if that unusual job can’t make us have a good life. But these days work with passion more valuable…

      • Susie Ncuss March 31, 2016 at 4:56 pm

        yep, exactly.
        let’s pray for our own husband’s success😀

      • Eka Novita March 31, 2016 at 5:02 pm

        Aamiiiiinnnn deep from my heart.

  2. ayanapunya March 31, 2016 at 6:34 pm Reply

    My husband work in supplier medical equipment. But if I tell this to someone they will think that my husband is a sales of medicine products

    • Eka Novita April 1, 2016 at 8:34 am Reply

      Waduuuuw, padahal it’s so different ya mbak… Senasib kita mbak.

  3. nyonyasepatu March 31, 2016 at 8:56 pm Reply

    Emang agak bingungin yaa buat sebagian orang hehe

    • Eka Novita April 1, 2016 at 8:32 am Reply

      Iya mbak, termasuk aku. Sampe sekarang belum ngerti dg pasti kerjaan suamiku apa. Bukan anak IT sih😛

  4. aqied March 31, 2016 at 11:05 pm Reply

    Hahaha sampe temen programmer kalo ud cape harus njelasin soal apa itu ptofesi programmer, ngakunya “tukang ketik”. sementara kalo aku usilin nyebutnya tukang kode dan tukang php. Wkwkwkwkwk

    • Eka Novita April 1, 2016 at 8:29 am Reply

      Bwahahhahahaha… bener juga ya mbak, tukang kode dan tukang php.. Yessss… bisa jailin suami !

  5. NinaFajriah April 1, 2016 at 7:30 am Reply

    Gimana ngejelasin something like ‘blogger’ to our parents. Pusing!😀

    • Eka Novita April 1, 2016 at 8:31 am Reply

      Iya kan, ya kan… Kalo aku simpelnya bilang, kalo blogger itu penulis/jurnalis dunia maya.

  6. Sekar April 1, 2016 at 9:43 am Reply

    wuaaah! aku ada temennya!

    “I dont know the best way to explain my husband do for living. Mmmmm, i mean his job. Because most all of our relatives didn’t understand. Include our parents, hiks.”

    kalo aku, our big family and neighbour😦 lha wong temen-temen kampus aja kadang masih banyak yang asing sama pekerjaan freelance, meskipun nantinya mereka pasti komen, “kereen!” haha lumayanlah nggak dibilang aneh

    • Eka Novita April 1, 2016 at 4:57 pm Reply

      Buatku orang yg punya keahlian dan kerjaan yg antimainstream kayak freelance itu memang keren. Cuma ya ituuu dia, susah ngejelasin ke orang-orang… Zzzzzzz….

  7. Andina April 2, 2016 at 3:51 pm Reply

    My husband also work from home. He also work with computer, but do 3D work and boss live in overseas, sometimes goes to office to test his work but that’s it.

    I can understand if parents don’t understand that today we can work from home using Internet connection. But usually if we can explain the logics, they can understand.

    There’s benefits working from home too. Just because we don’t do what common people do (work 9 to 5 in an office) doesn’t mean it’s not a real job🙂 salam kenal ya

    • Eka Novita April 2, 2016 at 4:14 pm Reply

      Salam kenal kembali mbak Andina…
      Glad to know we share the same experience. I agree with you about explain our husband job with logic way. Maybe i just lack of patience and tired to keep explain this to my parents in law. Anyway, thankyou for leave comments here. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

